April 20, 2024
  • April 20, 2024
Canada Soccer Charmaine Crooks

Charmaine Crooks Elected President Of Canada Soccer

By on May 6, 2023 0 719 Views

The interim president was officially voted in on Saturday at an annual meeting in Saint John, New Brunswick.

Former Olympian Charmaine Crooks beat pit Rob Newman for the presidency of the federation.

Crooks had been named interim president after Nick Bontis resigned.

She had been on the board since 2012-13 and Vice President since 2021, while Newman served on the board for 10 years from 2002-03 to 2011-12.

See Also: Players Association Calls For Massive Change Ahead Of Presidential Election

There were 85 votes among the members at the annual meeting which were divided by geography, with 10 each for Ontario and Quebec, eight for Alberta and BC, four for Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan, three for Manitoba, and two each for Newfoundland and Labrador, PEI, Nunavut, Northwest Territories, and the Yukon.

25 votes came from players, with two votes with one each from each national team, Canada’s league, and professional clubs (21), referees (one), and coaches (one).

Canada Soccer did not divulge the exact results of the vote when they announced the winner.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *